• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Library Labor Awards

Page history last edited by PBworks 17 years, 1 month ago

Library Labor Awards


James B. Carey Library receives John Sessions Memorial Award


CHICAGO –The James B. Carey Library, School of Management and Labor Relations, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey, is the 2007 recipient of the John Sessions Memorial Award presented by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). 


The award is named in honor of John Sessions, former American Federation of Labor/Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) co-chair of the AFL-CIO/ALA Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor Groups.   The plaque, supported by a donation from the AFL-CIO, is given to recognize a library or library system that has made a significant effort to work with the labor community and by doing so has brought recognition to the history and contribution of the labor movement to the development of the United States. 


“Under the stewardship of Constance Finlay, the James B. Carey Library has been transformed in recent years into a dynamic agent for providing in-depth and specialized information resources and services to a wide range of the labor community that includes students, scholars, union leaders and public policy practitioners,” said Theodora T. Haynes, award committee chair.  “The Library’s recent successful initiatives document past and present work of labor and range from collaborating with the Public Employee Relations Commission on building a comprehensive database of collective bargaining contracts to mounting a historical exhibit and Web site honoring James B. Carey.”

“Carey was an influential labor leader and the first President of the International Union of Electronic, Electrical, Salaried, Machine & Furniture Workers (IUE),” Haynes added.


The award will be presented at RUSA Awards Ceremony on June 25, 2007, from 4 to 6 p.m., during the ALA Annual Conference in Washington.   






John Sessions Memorial Award



Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.